Irish Poetry after Yeats: From Murphy to Montague

Tuesdays, 10 am - 12 pm

Facilitator: Charles Fanning

Since the international success of the writers of the “Irish Renaissance,” including Nobel laureate W. B. Yeats (1865-1939), Irish poetry has continued to thrive. This course continues a survey of poetry in Irish (in translation) and English since the 1930s. This semester’s focus is poets who flourished in the 1960s and 1970s. They are John Montague (b. 1929), Sean O Tuama (1926-2006), Caitlin Maude (1941-82), Biddy Jenkinson (b. 1949), Deirdre Brennan (b. 1934), Michael Hartnett (1941-99), and Richard Murphy (1927-2018).

Poems of Repossession, Leabhar na hAthghabhala, Louis de Paor, ed. ISBN‎ 978-1780372990 Collected Poems, John Montague, ISBN  ‎ 978-0916390686
The Pleasure Ground: Poems 1952-2012, Richard Murphy, ISBN 978-1852249862.

TuesdaysSeptember 26 – November 14, 202310 am – 12 pmIn-Person
WashU West Campus
begins August 29